Iowa Yarn Store— A Visit to Bettendorf’s Knit and Knot

lots of yarn

Shelves of yarn at the Knit and Knot.

I know that all of us yarn-a-holics love visiting yarn shops, so I thought that I would virtually share my recent visit to my local yarn store, the Knit and Knot, in my hometown of Bettendorf, Iowa. When I walk into a yarn store I can literally feel my pulse quicken. Oh! to touch all the different fibers,  and the visual onslaught of candy-colored yarn….well, let’s just say that I enjoy these visits thoroughly.

Owner, Joy Povich, opened The Knit and Knot in early 2012.  Joy is a sweetheart who is always willing to help with your knit or crochet patterns and yarn choices.  She tends the shop with her little side-kick, Miles, who will most definitely grow up loving (or hating) yarn LOL.  She also has three employed instructors to help teach many class offerings. (I wrote a local newspaper article upon the opening of the store that you can read here.)

buttons

The store has a large selection of buttons to choose from.

Store Offerings

It seems that the store has quite literally every yarn imaginable! If it’s not in the store, just ask and they will try their best to order it for you.  On top of yarn, the store offers a large selection of books, patterns, finished items for sale, buttons, needles, and much more!

Walking into the Knit and Knot is like opening one of Debbie Macomber’s books and delving into her fictional world on Blossom Street (if you have not read these, then I encourage you to read them—they are great books for yarn-lovers). I say this because there is always a crowd of ladies gathered around an old wood table near the back of the Knit and Knot; it seems so cozy and welcoming to witness a group of crafters gathered together to share in their love of yarn.

Anyway, without further ado, let’s just sit back and look at some yarn and dream about our next project (these are all pictures from Joy’s store, The Knit and Knot). Thanks for allowing me to invade with my camera, Joy!!! I’m looking forward to working on my first pair of socks (I couldn’t leave empty-handed!).

frog sweater

This sweater is adorable!

yarn

I’m drooling…..

knit hats on display

I love these hats!!!

wool yarn

I’m still drooling……

 

 

About freelancewritingshelleylittle

Shelley Little has been a full-time freelance writer for 8 years. You can read her current work as a contributing writer at freshome.com or at her knit and crochet blog knitandcrochetblog.com

Posted on August 5, 2014, in Ideas, local yarn shop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

