Hooked Rugs— A Magic Carpet Ride

mosaic rug

I call this the mosaic rug and it is my most precious heirloom

While rug hooking is not exactly knitting or crocheting; it is still a craft that involves the love of fiber, and this is a craft that my mother has excelled at.

Upon retirement from the stressful job of being a Registered Nurse at a Veteran’s Facility, my mother took up the art of primitive rug hooking. This form of rug hooking requires a keen eye for color, design and pattern. Anything is possible when it comes to this art form. You can design your own patterns, or copy patterns that inspire you. My mother usually finds a pattern in a magazine or book that she loves and then has a local copy shop blow up the pattern, so that she can transfer it onto linen backing.

Mom has made me several heirloom rugs that I will treasure for the rest of my life and plan to pass on to my three children. So, I thought that it would be nice to share these hooked sensations with the rest of the world as a tribute to my Mom. She has put as much love and effort into these rugs as she did into me as a child—I cherish them.  Enjoy the art gallery!

rug gallery

sail boat rug

dog

mosaic

salmon rug

poppy rug

logo

About freelancewritingshelleylittle

Shelley Little has been a full-time freelance writer for 8 years. You can read her current work as a contributing writer at freshome.com or at her knit and crochet blog knitandcrochetblog.com

Posted on August 17, 2014, in Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My mom had a hook floral pattern she hung on the wall. When I saw these they made me think of my childhood

    Like

    • Yes, I stare at these rugs and think of my Mom 🙂 What hard work!!! And such talent to make these!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • They are beautiful. I don’t know about you, but I find when I do crafts like crocheting or knitting, it is generally a release of stress and tension; my happy place. I contemplate and ponder ideas, random thoughts and just everything. Sometimes I wonder if my Mom did and the beauty in her crafts reflected of those thoughts. Food for thought!

        Like

  2. Oh definitely!!! Any craft is like meditation! and it is so calming and relaxing 🙂 Like those t-shirts that say, ” I knit so that I don’t kill people” LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

