Cable Knit Hat—Free, Easy Pattern

cable knit hat

Oh, how I love cables! This free cable knit hat pattern from Lion brand is my new favorite for Fall. The first time I tried this pattern I used a cheaper acrylic yarn (something I tend to do the first time I try any pattern), but now that I know how much I love it, I plan to use a nice fisherman’s wool for the next cable hat.

I also added the button…I simply cannot resist adding buttons to ALL the hats I make. I’m not sure why, but a hat feels empty to me without at least one big accent button.

I think a beginner can try this pattern—even if you have never tried knitting cables before. It can seem like too many needles when you are knitting in the round on double-pointed needles and a cable needle is thrown into the mix, but you need to just concentrate the two needles that you are currently working with, ignoring all the others clattering in the background, begging to be picked up.

I love using wooden double-pointed needles because they are so grippy (no worrying about slipped stitches). So, I usually use a double-pointed needle as my cable needle, too ( as shown in the image below).

knitting cables in the round

Here I am balancing four double pointed needles and a smaller double-pointed for my 2/2 cable pattern.

Here is another picture of the complete project:

fall cable knit hat

What do you think? I’m aware that I made a mistake in this pattern (can you spot it?) but I didn’t bother to frog it as this was really just a sample hat. Try the pattern and see if you like it as much as I do! I plan to make MANY more 🙂

Until next time, Happy crafting!

About freelancewritingshelleylittle

Shelley Little has been a full-time freelance writer for 8 years. You can read her current work as a contributing writer at freshome.com or at her knit and crochet blog knitandcrochetblog.com

Posted on August 27, 2014, in free pattern, Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

